I got on the scale this morning, and I was filled with disappointment. I gained weight. About 2 pounds, which isn’t a HUGE deal, except it is. I’ve been eating right, avoiding FUN foods, learning to crave raw veggies, NOT having pizza and high simple carb delights. Drinking ONLY water, for months now. The year 2021 is probably the healthiest in way of nutrition, my body has ever been. Yet, I can’t seem to lose weight. I went to the doctor’s office a few weeks ago, and this week I am scheduled for some blood work to see what’s going on with me internally. But I can let you know what’s happening spiritually, I’m on life support.

During my morning devotion, I told God that I can’t keep pushing up against this brick wall expecting it to move. I can work out and eat grass, drink gallons of water, and maybe lose a few ounces. While just walking past breads and foods that make my nasal cavity perk up with joy causes me to gain actual pounds. The game is rigged, and I can’t win against the House.

So in my morning prayers, I told Him that I needed help and that I couldn’t do this on my own. Then I decided to go for a walk. I went to go check on my mom, and she was sound a sleep. The park was not far from me, so I clipped my fanny pack on my waist and made my way to the park.

While I was there, the most amazing, God-sent miracle happened. There’s a fear that I have, it’s weird but it’s me. This thing with people passing me. When I was in high school, this girl was coming down the stairs behind me, and I panicked, I tried to skip a few steps to get down to the first floor before she could pass me. Oh, I made it down before her alright, I ended up tumbling down and spraining my ankle. HOW embarrassing!

As I walking around the park, I see this older woman (maybe in her 50s) coming in at my 8 o’clock. I try to speed up, but she’s full of life and clearly healthier than me (I’m in my 30s). As she is passing me, she turns her head, without breaking stride, and tells me “Don’t give up. Keep going.” I was shocked, because I was ready to give up, literally, I was about to hop back into my car. Then she said “A year ago I was 114 pounds heavier. But I kept walking, after ever meal, I kept going.”

I felt an electric type current surge through my body and tears stinging my eyes. God heard my prayer. He heard how I needed help, encouragement, and He provided it for me. Her words encouraged me to keep going, and instead of going back to my car, I did 2.99 miles.

He let me know that I am not alone on this journey, and that He will see to it that I am victorious, because He is with me.

I don’t know what you’re about to give up on, don’t. God hasn’t given up on you, and He never will.