Writing a book was a piece of cake compared to the marketing aspect. I am trying to get my book out there so people can read my heart. I’ve never really worn my heart on my sleeve, but I sure did write it in a book! So I’ve reached out to what I deem in my mind as “accessible” celebrities—people who are social media famous in specific circles. So far, I have not received a peep back. I get it, but at the same time, I don’t. Because while I can’t get a “blue checkmark” individual on Instagram to even notice that I exist, the GOD of the UNIVERSE not only knows my name, He has it engraved in the palms of His hand!

This text that I alluded to is found in Isaiah 49: Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before Me.” Is. 49:16 ESV. The idea of my name being engraved in the palms of the Savior’s hands is mind-blowing to me. But the verse that comes after that melts my heart “your walls are continually before Me.” This phrase is discussing the torn and damaged walls that surrounded Jerusalem. The very next verse speaks of the destroyers who wrecked her (God likens Jerusalem as a woman or a bride) have finally left. And all that remains is a broken and battered Zion (another name for Jerusalem).

What destroyers have come through and broken down your defenses and left your heart wrecked and battered? Who violated you and treated you as something to be trampled upon? What incident happened to be the straw which broke the camel’s back? Whatever or whoever left you disremembered and bruised, broken and shattered, God says that what happened to you hurts Him and is always before His mind and His heart.

Do you know what He says in response to your hurt? He says that He will repair you Himself. And when He is done, your current ruined and desolate places, your ravaged life will be too small for the blessings that will come your way. And those who had harmed you will be so far gone, they’ll be like a distant memory never to be recalled again (Isaiah 49:17-19).

The beautiful passage in scripture says that you will be left in disbelief and recall for a moment that you were bereaved and barren; you were exiled, rejected, and left all alone (Isaiah 49:21). But then God steps in and says: Kings shall be your foster fathers, and their queens your nursing mothers. With their faces to the ground they shall bow down to you, and lick the dust of your feet. Then you will know that I am the LORD; those who wait for me shall not be put to shame.” Isaiah 49:23 ESV.

I know I started this post discussing my lack of accessibility to the “kings and queens” of this world. But the King of kings knows me by name. He knows you by name too. He wants to have a relationship with you that is built on love. To do that, He knows that you’ll need more than some TLC, you’ll need TCV, or time, communication, and vulnerability. Now, He’s eternal, so He has all the time in the world. He’s written you a love letter that’s combined in 66 books. And He hung naked on a cross for your sins; you can’t get more vulnerable than that.

BREAKING NEWS!!! As I am writing this devotional blog, I get a text message from an elder at a church I used to attend. He asked me if I would be willing to do a devotion or two, next month to talk about my book to an audience of over 500 people!!! I can’t even believe it!

Magnify the Lord with me and let us exalt His name together[!!].
I sought the LORD, and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to Him are radiant with joy; their faces shall never be ashamed.

Psalm 34:3-5 BSB

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7 BSB

Surely my name is graven in His hands, and my walls are ever before Him,
Amen.

p.s. here’s the book “The Power of the Gospel in Your Relationships” and the Workbook too!