Premium Vector | Number of 5 days to go

Five days left. I can’t believe I’m really entering into a countdown. There were a few times I wanted to quit. Not that many, surprisingly, but there were a few. I mean, after all, this was a self arbitrary application. No one else would care if I skipped a day or so. Who would notice if I didn’t get to 365 days? God would.

The Bible tells us in the book of Psalm to: Commit everything you do to the LORD. Trust him, and he will help you.” Psalm 37:5. How will God help you? Or at least how did God help me during this daily activity of writing down my understandings of His word? I suppose the best way I can explain it to you, is without Him there would be no “Enoch365.”

The entire premise was based on the idea of spending time with Him as Enoch did. The Bible says that Enoch walked and talked with God for 300 years and then God took him. Enoch was 65 when he started walking with the God of the universe. And the scriptures have this to say about him: By faith Enoch was taken away so that he did not see death, “and was not found, because God had taken him”; for before he was taken he had this testimony, that he pleased God.” Hebrews 11:5.

I guess the one thing I want to be written on my tombstone if I don’t make it to see God alive, is “Before she was taken she had this testimony, that she pleased God.” Taking a look at just this year, have I made decisions that would please God? Honestly, sometimes I didn’t. But that’s when He would help me even more. He would let me know through His Divine Spirit that what I had done had not been pleasing to Him.

And you might think, what sort of things did you do? Well, Romans 8 tells us anything that we do in the flesh is not of the Spirit, and the book of Galatians explains: But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23.

I haven’t always shown love, had joy, brought peace, shown patience or kindness; I haven’t always been good or faithful, and many people would doubt that I am gentle. I struggle immensely with self-control. Basically, I’m a failure when it comes to being a Christian. And when I’ve had days where the truth of my character comes to light, I am often tempted to just give it up. Because who cares if I write one more poorly structured devotional blog? He does. God cares.

Why should He care? Well even: if we are faithless, He remains faithful— for He cannot deny Himself.” 2 Timothy 2:13. And before I began this journey I had laid it out before Him, and this is what the word of God says about that: Commit your works to the LORD and your plans will be achieved.” Proverbs 16:3.

Maybe not in the way you thought, but He will work it out so that the plan will be accomplished. I think of Moses, who so desperately wanted to see his people freed. He had a plan, but it failed. He thought that he could take down the Egyptian army by force, by his might and his power. We saw how that worked out, he ended up murdering an Egyptian and his own people were willing to sell him out.

So he ran. Ran from everything he knew and loved, he even thought he ran from God, and God’s plans for him. But just as the Psalmist stated: Where can I go to escape Your Spirit? Where can I flee from Your presence?” Psalm 139:7. You see Moses and God had the same desires, to see the children of Israel free. But they did not have the same methods: So he said to me, “This is the word of the LORD…Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit, says the LORD of Hosts.” Zechariah 4:6.

God will get things done through His Spirit. And the fruit of His Spirit is how we are supposed to get things done. I honestly don’t see how embodying love, joy, peace and the like will get me what I desire, but He tells me to: Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding;” Proverbs 3:5. So that’s what I’m going to do. I desire to share what’s in my heart and mind, what burns in my soul with others about the God that walks with me. How will I finally get the word out? I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to take it day by day, 365 days a year.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your  own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your  paths straight. |