Galatians 6:2 Carry each other's burdens, and in this way you will fulfill  the law of Christ. | New International Version (NIV) | Download The Bible  App NowA few days ago I mentioned a some things that were going on with me. And how my first instinct was to reach out to human entities to share my burdens with. And the Bible tells us that this is more than acceptable. In fact, the scripture states: Bear one another’s burdens and thus you will fulfill the law of Christ.” Galatians 6:2. Bearing each other’s burdens fulfills the law of Christ. What law is Paul discussing? During Jesus’ final moments before His walk down to Gethsemene, these are the words He left for His disciples: A new commandment I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so also you must love one another.” John 13:34. And we have looked at 1st Corinthians 13 where it states that “love bears all things.” So we fulfill the law of Christ when we support one another in love. And without my support system, who knows where I would be? But before sharing our burdens with others, God wants us to share them with Him.

This concept of casting our burdens on God is an Old Testament staple. Listen to the psalmist rendition of this eternal truth: Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.” Psalm. 55:22. Peter, who knew His Master was able to say with confidence: casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7. And that is exactly what I have been training myself to do. I remember the first time I attempted to really put this into practice, I had to have been in my mid-twenties. The man that I thought would marry me, asked someone else to be his wife. I’ve spoken about this before during previous devotional posts. As soon as I found out, I went on my knees. But I prayed blessings upon the couple, and that His will might be done. But I did not really “cast my anxieties” or “burdens” upon Him.

What was holding me back? I knew what the word of God said, but to me, it did not make practical sense to “burden” the God of the universe, with my romantic dilemmas. Yet here is the Bible speaking directly to my heart and situation: The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.” Psalm 34:18. And for some reason, I could not really visualize that the same God who spoke life into existence, would really care about my broken heart. But in fact, Jesus said: “The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, Because He has anointed Me To preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to the captives And recovery of sight to the blind, To set at liberty those who are oppressed…” Luke 4:18.

Jesus desires to be there for us in every aspect of our lives. And finally, in my mid-thirties I began to really let Him in. So last week when I mentioned that I had nowhere to turn but to Him. What I did was place Him in first, and set Him as my only. I claimed the promises of God and took to heart that He cares about everything having to do with my life. Because when a parent is with their child, and even though they have so many responsibilities with their work and with life, they do not dismiss their child. Instead, they make time to address whatever ailments have stressed their loved ones. That is how God is with us. And I had to learn that side of the Gospel.

New Mercies!As I continue to learn more about this God who is concerned with every aspect of my life, I will pray that He keeps me close to His side. And I want to share my testimony, that God has made a way where there seemed to be no way! I am on the road to recovery, healing physically, mentally, and spiritually. And what He is doing for me I cannot even believe. Because I am not worthy, but His word tells me that: It is because of the Lord’s lovingkindnesses that we are not consumed, Because His [tender] compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great and beyond measure is Your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion and my inheritance,” says my soul; “Therefore I have hope in Him and wait expectantly for Him.” Lamentations 3:22-24.