Tonight’s devotional will not be long. But I hope that the truth of this topic penetrates deep in your soul.

Today I watched news clip after clip of anger, frustration, and hopelessness be acted out in protest outlined with an inferno of rage. People have been locked up in their homes for months due to a disease that has ravaged the world, families who have lived paycheck to paycheck for over a generation are now furloughed and unable to feed their families or take care of their basic necessities, and then with no end in sight to get back to normal, in broad daylight a man is murdered on the streets of America by those who have been sworn to protect and serve, their victim. And so the straw that broke the camel’s back has also burned the streets of America.

I suffer from stifling tears as I watched the video that shocked the world, but not my reality. Being Black and living in a country that has always seen you as a 3rd class citizen, is devastatingly painful. Knowing that you will never be good enough or White enough to fit into the portion of society where safety is not hoped and prayed for, but a part of everyday life. And I pray and ask God “WHAT ARE WE TO DO?” And this is what He has to say:
He has told you, O man, what is good;
And what does the Lord require of you
Except to be just, and to love [and to diligently practice] kindness (compassion),
And to walk humbly with your God [setting aside any overblown sense of importance or self-righteousness]?” – Micha 6:8.

How am I to do that in this world? To do what You require of me by being just, love kindness and mercy, and to walk humbly before you? He says through His word:
Is this not the fast that I have chosen:
To loose the bonds of wickedness,
To undo the heavy burdens,
To let the oppressed go free,
And that you break every yoke?
Is it not to share your bread with the hungry,
And that you bring to your house the poor who are cast out;
When you see the naked, that you cover him,
And not hide yourself from your own flesh?
Then your light shall break forth like the morning,
Your healing shall spring forth speedily,
And your righteousness shall go before you;
The glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.
Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer;
You shall cry, and He will say, ‘Here I am.’
“If you take away the yoke from your midst,
The pointing of the finger, and speaking wickedness,
If you extend your soul to the hungry
And satisfy the afflicted soul,
Then your light shall dawn in the darkness,
And your darkness shall be as the noonday.
The Lord will guide you continually,
And satisfy your soul in drought,
And strengthen your bones;
You shall be like a watered garden,
And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. – Isaiah 58:6-11.

What about those who do not practice this but call themselves followers of Christ! About those who keep silent when the oppressed cry out? God tells me:
Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven. Many will say to Me on that day [when I judge them], ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, and driven out demons in Your name, and done many miracles in Your name?’ And then I will declare to them publicly, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me [you are banished from My presence], you who act wickedly [disregarding My commands].’” – Matthew 7:21-23.

What about in the meantime? What about the pain and suffering. What are we to do about that? The righteous anger that burns in our hearts? What about that God?
Never take your own revenge, beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, “VENGEANCE IS MINE, I WILL REPAY,” says the Lord.” Romans 12:19.

So I will trust you because You have said that You will take care of it. So, Jesus, I’m waiting, we’re all waiting on You.